ISO Certification

ISO management standards are a series of frameworks that help you run your business effectively. ISO certification is proof from a third party, such as ourselves, that you comply with an ISO management standard. ISO certification gives your organisation credibility.

SO certification certifies that a management system, manufacturing process, service, or documentation procedure has all the requirements for standardization and quality assurance. ISO (International Organization for Standardization) is an independent, non-governmental, international organization that develops standards to ensure the quality, safety, and efficiency of products, services, and systems.

ISO certifications exist in many areas of industry, from energy management and social responsibility to medical devices and energy management. ISO standards are in place to ensure consistency. Each certification has separate standards and criteria and is classified numerically. For instance, the ISO certification we currently hold at Mead Metals is ISO 9001:2008. 

ISO 9001 Definition

The certification ISO 9001:2008 includes three components: ISO, 9001, and 2008. Here’s what each component represents:


As mentioned above, ISO refers to the International Organization for Standardization. This organization develops the standards, and it does in order to certify businesses or organizations. Certification is handled third-party and tested annually. 


The number appearing after ISO classifies the standard. All standards within the ISO 9000 family refer to quality management. ISO 9001 is among ISO’s best-known standards, and it defines the criteria for meeting a number of quality management principles. It helps businesses and organizations be more efficient and improve customer satisfaction. 


The final number in an ISO certification refers to the version of the standard that’s being met and is represented by the calendar year those standards were launched. 2008 is the fourth edition of ISO 9001. The newest version, ISO 9001:2015, was launched in September 2015, and Mead Metals is currently updating its processes to meet the specifications of this newest version. 

What Does ISO 9001 Certification Mean?  

If an organization bills themselves as “ISO 9001 Certified,” this means that the organization has met the requirements designated under ISO 9001 . ISO 9001 requires organizations to define and follow a quality management system that is both appropriate and effective while also requiring them to identify areas for improvement and take action toward those improvements.

As a result, it’s typically understood that an organization claiming ISO 9001 certification is an organization with products and services that meet quality standards. 

ISO Certification Explained

In order to sell to certain industries, being ISO 9001 certified is required – the automotive industry is a popular example. We were certified to ISO in 1998, and it’s helped our organization in numerous ways.

An ISO standards have given us a layout of what needs to be done on every order. We know the standards that need to be met, and we have the tools in place to ensure quality, consistency, and safety. What we do, how we check for quality, and what’s required of us is all laid out by ISO. 

ISO certification standards also help keep our products and services relevant. When the standards change, we change along with them. When we work with new customers, we send them our certification details so they know they can expect ISO standards be met.


The documents required for ISO Certification are the documentary evidences which are required to prove a part of the compliance against a specific ISO Standards. Documentary evidences alone are not sufficient to fulfill the requirement of compliance against a specific ISO Standards.

Since there are so many published ISO Standards applicable for a range of management systems of a variety of industries and sectors, we can only discuss the requirement of a specific standard as the requirement varies from one to another. A few popular ISO Standards are ISO 9001:2015, ISo14001:2015, ISO 13485:2016, ISO 22000:2005, ISO 27001:2013 etc. The ISO management system standards categorized by sector, are as follows:

  1. Quality
  2. Industry
  3. Safety and Security
  4. General management
  5. Health and Medical
  6. Environment and Energy
  7. Information Technology
  8. Services

Mandatory documents:

  1. Scope of the Quality Management System (QMS) (clause 4.3)
  2. Quality policy (clause 5.2)
  3. Quality objectives (clause 6.2)
  4. Criteria for evaluation and selection of suppliers (clause 8.4.1)

Please note that records marked with * as mentioned below, are only mandatory in cases when the relevant clause is not excluded from the scope of the QMS:

Mandatory records:

  1. Monitoring and measuring equipment calibration records* (clause
  2. Records of training, skills, experience and qualifications (clause 7.2)
  3. Product/service requirements review records (clause
  4. Record about design and development outputs review* (clause 8.3.2)
  5. A Records about design and development inputs* (clause 8.3.3)
  6. Records of design and development controls* (clause 8.3.4)
  7. Records of design and development outputs *(clause 8.3.5)
  8. Design and development changes records* (clause 8.3.6)
  9. Characteristics of product to be produced and service to be provided (clause 8.5.1)
  10. Records about customer property (clause 8.5.3)
  11. Production/service provision change control records (clause 8.5.6)
  12. Record of conformity of product/service with acceptance criteria (clause 8.6)
  13. Record of nonconforming outputs (clause 8.7.2)
  14. Monitoring and measurement results (clause 9.1.1)
  15. Internal audit program (clause 9.2)
  16. Results of internal audits (clause 9.2)
  17. A Results of the management review (clause 9.3)
  18. Results of corrective actions (clause 10.1)

Non-mandatory documents:

There are many non-mandatory documents that may be used for ISO 9001implementation as the list is exhaustive. However, there is a general consensus among ISO consultants at Mumbai & various quality interpreters across the globe, that following non-mandatory documents are most commonly used:

  1. Procedure for determining context of the organization and interested parties (clauses 4.1 and 4.2)
  2. Procedure for addressing risks and opportunities (clause 6.1)
  3. The Procedure for competence, training and awareness (clauses 7.1.2, 7.2 and 7.3)
  4. Procedure for equipment maintenance and measuring equipment (clause 7.1.5)
  5. Procedure for document and record control (clause 7.5)
  6. Sales procedure (clause 8.2)
  7. Procedure for design and development (clause 8.3)
  8. Procedure for production and service provision (clause 8.5)
  9. Warehousing procedure (clause 8.5.4)
  10. Procedure for management of nonconformists and corrective actions (clauses 8.7 and 10.2)
  11. The Procedure for monitoring customer satisfaction (clause 9.1.2)
  12. Procedure for internal audit (clause 9.2)
  13. Procedure for management review (clause 9.3)

bookmark this link

anmol ghai

Leave a Reply